Good? Bad? Rationalization…

I found a good video in brain pickings a few days ago. it tells us about something true, but remains quite hidden from our daily perception.

Check this out!

considering what it say is true, I think I might be having a great deal of rationalization. (at least in some area inside my point of view)

I like to describe myself as a person who follows a set of code, imposed by me unto myself. and I really take it seriously. I mean, I like to think that if we can’t act in a way that ourselves deemed fit, how can we do anything else?  How can we face ourselves in the mirror if we’re unable to say “this person is a good person” ?

but, as the clip tells us, in order to keeps a good sense of moral righteousness in ourselves, we had to have a great deal of rationalization in some “bad” acts that we’ve done.

The bad thing is, i can rationalize things quite well…, so i honestly feels no guilt at all.. The worse thing is, i rationalize something so good that, maybe, you ended up with a feeling that maybe YOU’re the one at fault.

In some way, it’s convenient. like when you need to make a convincing excuse about something, or when you really feels like you’ve done nothing wrong and in need to convince someone’s about that (well, let’s say in case of love quarrel maybe?)

in other way.. it leaves you as a “hard” person to handle, a stubborn, self oriented person with a little or no empathy at all. since your excuse is so good no one can ever blames you for anything, your credibility can never goes up with that.

and that’s what i fear the most. when you honestly believe that you’re innocent, and the other’s honestly accepted your excuses and your innocence, but things are not the same, ever.

I really wonder how many times did i lost my relations over something like that.

Leave a Reply

